Convertible top reset after battery replacement

Oldmsct

Dedicated Member
American Zeds
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
53
Location
Delphi, Indiana
Model of Z
3.0I
After disconnecting battery terminals (same as battery replacement) I had the same problem. I took it to the local stealership and for a mere $150 got it fixed. I have since heard that if you connect a trickle charger to the under hood terminals prior to disconnection there will not be a problem. Can't vouch for that.
Unfortunately I have no answer for your dilemma other than the above.
 

Ianmc

Zorg Guru (III)
British Zeds
The M44 Massive
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
2,423
Location
New Forest
Model of Z
Z3 (M44)
Our E36 convertible with a fully auto top doesn't need resetting after a battery change. Would be surprised if the semi automatic Z3 needs it.
 

Mihir Korke

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
12
Model of Z
3.0
I replaced the battery and now the top does not work. Checked the fuses, brake lights and all is fine. The motor/pump has enough fluid. Hence wondering what should I do now to get the electric top working on the Z3
 

Mihir Korke

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
12
Model of Z
3.0
After disconnecting battery terminals (same as battery replacement) I had the same problem. I took it to the local stealership and for a mere $150 got it fixed. I have since heard that if you connect a trickle charger to the under hood terminals prior to disconnection there will not be a problem. Can't vouch for that.
Unfortunately I have no answer for your dilemma other than the above.
Like the work "Stealership"
 

Mihir Korke

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
12
Model of Z
3.0
Everything else works. Door locks, windows functioning normally, radio. Its just the top motor, seems disconnected. I top the top back about 8-10 inches and pressed the down button but no sound. The cylinder is clean and has no leaks. This is an almost new car, only driven 25k miles. The car was last driven 3 weeks ago and the top worked just fine. The battery was old and getting drained so I swapped it for a new one. The car starts better now
 

andyglym

Shiny Dust Caps Make Your Zed Go Faster.
Supporter
British Zeds
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
19,114
Location
Moresby, West Cumbria, England
Model of Z
2.8 Roadster
Everything else works. Door locks, windows functioning normally, radio. Its just the top motor, seems disconnected. I top the top back about 8-10 inches and pressed the down button but no sound. The cylinder is clean and has no leaks. This is an almost new car, only driven 25k miles. The car was last driven 3 weeks ago and the top worked just fine. The battery was old and getting drained so I swapped it for a new one. The car starts better now
At risk of asking a stupid question, you do press the foot brake then press the roof button? It won't lower if you don't.
 

Alan Slade

Zorg Guru (III)
Supporter
British Zeds
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
389
Location
Portchester Hampshire
Model of Z
Z3 2 Litre
I have very recently replaced the battery on my Z3 I had no problems with the roof afterwards.
However, I also own a 3 series e92. I know that I will soon need to replace it’s battery and been told the new battery will have to be coded to the car, otherwise it won’t charge properly.
I have looked on line and found there is a dodge to avoid this problem. Apparently If I were to connect a charger to the charging terminals before removing the battery the car would not detect the change. I’ll have to wait and see.
 

Mihir Korke

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
12
Model of Z
3.0
Yes, I do press the brake. The car is in park and/or neutral. The E92s batteries have to be coded. But I thought this is a simple swap. The manual has nothing about it.
 

t-tony

Zorg Expert (II)
Supporter
British Zeds
#ZedShed
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
38,126
Location
Torksey Lock,Lincoln, England
Model of Z
Z4 3.0 Auto
OK, you press the brake, do the stop lights actually light up? May sound silly but we all assume that they are working and it's possible they're not?

Tony.
 

t-tony

Zorg Expert (II)
Supporter
British Zeds
#ZedShed
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
38,126
Location
Torksey Lock,Lincoln, England
Model of Z
Z4 3.0 Auto
There is a micro switch on the roof frame (left side I think) Check if it is still connected, if it is check if you're getting power at the pump motor.

Tony.
 

Mihir Korke

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
12
Model of Z
3.0
thanks for all the help. do you know how I can test if the mircoswitch is connected or if the motor has power. Any videos to demonstrate that.
 

t-tony

Zorg Expert (II)
Supporter
British Zeds
#ZedShed
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
38,126
Location
Torksey Lock,Lincoln, England
Model of Z
Z4 3.0 Auto
Here are several videos for YouTube (always a good place to look for help).

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YniNM_emr8


View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wdw6fdotuts


View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EM8yzfYhv2g


View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLYNqkCBh_M


View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZasKLs84Aus


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB06aHMw2w4

One other thing I would do is pull the roof operating switch out and disconnect the multi plug. If you have a 12v test light connect the earth clamp onto the door catch on the body then turn on the ignition, apply the foot brake and test each contact in the multi plug to see if you have power at the switch.

Something like this,


Tony.

Tony.
 

Althulas

Zorg Guru (IV)
British Zeds
Joined
Jun 14, 2014
Messages
3,079
Location
Milton, Banbury
Model of Z
M Roadster
Also the brake light switch has a dual circuit so just because the brake light works does not mean that power is getting passed the switch to allow activation of the roof.
 
Top